live it active



Re-igniting the 30 day challenge & yummy shake recipes

I’ve always been somewhat against challenges; however, this is my second round of the 250 squats; 100 leg lifts; 40 push-ups challenge, so obviously I’m a total flake.

The reason I tend to stay away from challenges (and diets) is because they’re not sustainable for the long haul. Yet, they can be excellent motivators. I also like the incredible structure they provide; everyday I know the minimum amount of activity I need to integrate into my workout.

I re-read my post-challenge post (ha; linked above) and noticed the self-created challenge mentioned at the end of the post. I have to be honest, that lasted approximately one week and the smoothies were never integrated. BUT, I am very pleased to let you know that while I still struggle to make yoga a regular part of my routine, I have started to have a shake everyday (yes, everyday). I’m proud to say, I’ve almost made it three weeks with the new fruit / veggie shake integration.

Thus, while the self-created challenge was WAY too ambitious, it has led to some modifications in my behaviour and diet (just not exactly when I said they would happen).

Here are a few of my favourite breakfast smoothies so far:

The Kaleo Cabana (I am just so creative; approximately 3 servings at 310 calories per serving; you’re going to want a food processor for this beast)

  • 4 cups of kale (use the leaves; leave those stems behind)
  • 2 bananas
  • 1 cup of sliced mango (or a whole one)
  • 1 cup of pineapple + some juiceGreen smoothie
  • 1.5 cups of coconut milk (I buy the 4 L cartons)
  • 1 cup of greek yogurt (I use vanilla, but you could use anything)
  • Sprinkle of nutmeg and cinnamon
  • 1 -2 tbsp of natural cashew or almond butter
  • Ice

 

The Berry Babe (1 serving; 390 calories per serving; use hand blender for this baby)

  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup of berries
  • 2 cups almond milk
  • 1 tbsp natural nut butter
  • Sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg
  • Add ice cubes after if using a hand blender

Both are absolutely delicious, but the kale recipe makes me feel so good about all the added vitamins and fibre I’m adding to my diet (and you don’t even taste the kale). Also, you’d be surprised at how filling the shakes are. If you want to include protein powder as a replacement for the nut butter, please be my guest. The malleability of these smoothies is what makes them so fantastic. And while you can blend the berries and kale together, I must warn you, it does make for a very unappealing colour (I just finished drinking that brown batch yesterday).

If you wish to join me in the 30 day Guns, Buns and Abs challenge (I didn’t come up with that title, le sigh), let me know and I will send you the information. If you want more smoothie recipes, stay tuned. More will be developed over the coming weeks.

M

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jenny Corlett says:

    Hey Morgan,

    You may have inspired me to jump onto your challenge but I need a bit more information to see if I can really manage it.

    Hope all is well and message me the details.

    We miss your smiling face and energy as always!
    Jenny

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

