live it active



Resolution Schmesolution

If you’re confused by the title, I’m trying to be funny but it’s early Sunday morning after a week of vacationing and I’m sick…my brain is not up to its usual firing strength.

As I’ve been writing this blog now for three years (wow), I usually write about New Year’s resolutions around this time. I know some of you make them. I have to admit, I might have even made a few myself (this is uncharacteristic behaviour for me). And seeing as I’ve made a few myself, the title now seems even more confusing and much less funny. I told you, my brain isn’t working at full capacity. I’m waiting for the caffeine to kick in.

If you’re interested in reading what I’ve written before on resolutions, please click here and here and here. I have to say the theme is pretty consistent throughout all three posts – don’t make New Year’s resolutions. This once again adds confusion to the title of this post and the fact that I made New Year’s resolutions myself. Forgive me, I’m human.

My fiancée is adamant that we should not share our resolutions with one another. Apparently he stumbled across some research which found those who shared their resolution with friends and family were less likely to keep it. Apparently the brain response to telling someone what you plan to do is akin to actually doing it. I’m still looking for this research…I’ll post it as soon as I find it (you’re just going to have to trust my fiancée on this one).

I find this interesting as it counters a large body of thought which encourages people to share their goal to help them stay committed. The theory – if no one knows about what you’re doing than what does it matter if you do it or not?

I’m not sure what the best approach is, but once again I think it really depends on the person. You know yourself better than most researchers. You know yourself a lot more than I do. You more than likely have some inkling of what you need in order to be successful. Therefore, you will know if sharing or not sharing your resolutions is the way to go or not.

Before I became anti-resolution (my past blogs clearly showcase this mindset…and no, I didn’t always wage war against resolutions) I used to share my resolutions with friends and family. Perhaps this is why I never kept them. Thus, this year I’ve decided to try something new and not share. I know, I know, you’re all on the edge of your seat wanting to know what my plans are for this year (insert sarcasm here), but you’re going to have to wait until December 2014. I’m actually excited by the fact that a) I’ve finally made resolutions for the first time in years; and b) that I’m not telling anyone for an entire year. I’m excited to conduct a quasi science experiment on my own life.

If you want to join me in this one-year-making-resolutions-but-not-telling-anyone-quasi-science-experiment, please write a comment on this post stating you wish to participate. This will allow me to check in with you at the end of the year.

Happy resolution making if you decide to do it and happy not telling anyone about it!

M

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. So…did you do it? | live it active pingbacked on 2 years, 8 months ago

Comments

  1. * AngelaAnderson says:

    I don’t like that you are telling me you have a secret and then not telling. But, good luck with the resolutions! I have made goals instead this year, also to avoid becoming one of the oh-so-many-who-don’t keep-resolutions – not sure if changing the name from ‘resolution’ to ‘goal’ will make it happen, but we’ll see!

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Sarah Wesseling says:

    I’m in! I already started my resolution and I haven’t told anyone. Looking forward to checking in at the end of the year!!

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Judy says:

    I have a resolution in mind BUT I am calling it a goal instead. I’m thinking if my brain doesn’t think it’s a resolution it won’t subconsciously try to forget about it. So yes, I’m ready and willing to participate in your don’t-tell-anyone challenge. Let the games begin!! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

