live it active



It’s Day 15 (and my muscles are tired)

I’m entering day 15 of my 30 day challenge. I’m proud to say I haven’t missed one day yet. Last night I completed 135 squats and 95 leg lifts (thankfully it was a push-up rest).

I have 3.5 people who have committed to the challenge. The 0.5 represents my colleague who does the exercises with me when we run at lunch together. She hasn’t decided to do the full 30 day challenge, but she is annoyingly (I say this with great love) fit enough to just join in the exercises when we run.

What have I noticed? I feel a lot stronger, especially in my abdominal region. Seriously, the leg lifts are a serious challenge for me. And no, I am not referring to the lying on your side, lifting one leg at a time type exercises. Leg lifts in this challenge refer to the exercise when you lie on your back, raise your two legs together up to the sky, lower them down without allowing your lower back to arch and come off the group and raising them up again. I make a lot of strange and unpleasant noises while doing this exercise.

Yet, it’s interesting how this challenge has motivated other change in my life. I’m eating better and a little less. I’m integrating the routine into a Zumba session or a cardio workout (run or bike). I’m sleeping better. That’s a lot of very positive change for only being on Day 15.

If you’re interested in trying out the challenge I’m doing, I encourage you to do so. It is a little hard on the knees so you may need to make a few modifications and that’s perfectly okay. If not my challenge, make up your own. Find a friend to do it with you. Monitor your progress with pictures (I know it sounds lame, but pictures provide very objective feedback).

Happy Wednesday!

M

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Cathy Wessels says:

    Good for you! Inspirational. I can’t imagine doing 135 squats at a time and the leg lifts – I would never move again šŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 10 months ago
    • Cathy,

      I have no doubt you could do it. Perhaps you need to start out at a different number and work towards this total over a longer period. If you don’t have knee issues, I have all the confidence you could reach these totals. Anything is possible!

      | Reply Posted 3 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

