live it active



It’s Mental Health Week

Today marks the first day of Mental Health Week. It’s an annual week dedicated to raising awareness about the importance of mental health.

I’m kicking it off by handing out postcards to unsuspecting C-train users (subway in Calgary). The postcard provides tips on how to take better care of one’s mental health. We (a team of 8 CMHA staff, I believe) will encourage postcard recipients to send it to someone they care about, someone who they think should take time this week (and every week) for their mental health.

The Canadian Mental Health Association is also participating in a daily live Twitter chat from noon to mid-afternoon (don’t quote me on the timing). I will be tweeting on Friday on the importance of stress management. Please come and tweet with me!

In honour of your mental health, I encourage you to take 5 to 10 minutes sometime this week to think about what brings you joy, peace, and happiness. What makes you feel good? What makes you feel bad? Can you increase the good and reduce the bad? If the bad is not removable, what can you do to make it better?

And when you figure out what it is that brings you happiness, joy, and peace, go out and do it (within reason, I don’t want you going on a wild shopping spree and blaming it on this blog). If it’s going for a walk with a friend, do it. If it’s eating an ice cream cone, do it. If it’s playing video games for a night (like all night), do it. I feel like I’m writing a Nike commercial without the sports…but you get the picture.

I kicked mental health week off yesterday with a hike. It was challenging, but my goodness was it rewarding. I felt happy, joy, and great peace. This week I hope to go for a few runs, get an ice cream cone from the best place in town, go for wine with friends, watch Alias, and engage in some mindfulness meditation. What will you do for yourself?

Happy Mental Health Week!

M

Leave a Reply

