live it active



On New Year’s Resolutions

Woo – I have been away from the world of blogging for far too long. It seems I took a major break from the holidays. Perhaps it provides an indication of how stressful my holidays were. Regardless, I am excited to be back. I absolutely love starting my day with a post.

So, how are you doing with the New Year’s resolution? Did you swear of chocolate? Wine? Coffee? Did you make a commitment to yourself that you will get up at 6 AM every morning to work out? To meditate? To clean?

I didn’t make any resolutions. I’ve never been able to keep them in the past and research shows that around 33% (or thereabouts) actually stick with it. Yes, I know, I’m priming myself for failure based on that stat, but I know New Year resolutions do NOT work for me.

Instead, I make resolutions throughout the year – anytime, anywhere. I’m proud to say that last year I decided to take better care of my hair and teeth. I started flossing and rinsing more, and washing my hair less. I also started getting it trimmed every three months (the hair, not the teeth). I believe there’s been a payoff – my teeth are still in my mouth and my hair is longer than ever and still on my head. Bonus.

But in all seriousness, I encourage you to take some time today to reevaluate your resolution. If you have sworn something out of your life (cigarettes, chocolate, etc.), I think you’re setting yourself up for failure. If you’re not, than all the power to you. But completely removing something, especially something that has been a part of you for a long time, will likely make you want it even more. Spend some time and make sure that the resolution you’ve made is realistic and that you have a plan for when you fall off the proverbial wagon. This will likely happen and you will likely beat yourself up – never a good thing when you’re trying to make a positive change.

Lastly, I would encourage you to spend some time thinking about why you have the habit you have. Why do you smoke? Why do you eat so much chocolate that you need to swear it out of your life (or all sugar for that matter)? Why do you stay up into the wee hours of the night and feel shattered the next day? Why do you do what you do?

With a better understanding of the why, you can start to break the cycle of the habit. If you know that you smoke before and after stressful meetings, you can take steps to find other stress relievers to better prepare. If you come to realize that you stay up late because you’re drinking too much coffee during the day, you know what needs to be done.

I must warn you, that when you do start to look at the ‘why’ some of the answers may be somewhat frightening. You may find out that you’re drinking an extra glass of wine a night because you’re unhappy with something in your life. You may realize that you’re constant self sabotage is because you don’t respect or really like who you are or who you’ve become. These are scary and often upsetting realizations and truths. Many put off taking time to understand the ‘why’ for this exact reason – the answer is sometimes too much.

While daunting, I encourage you to dig into finding the why. The answer may not always be pretty, but with an answer, you can start to make positive and beneficial change. I promise.

Happy resolution reviewing.

M

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Resolution Schmesolution | live it active pingbacked on 3 years, 11 months ago

Comments



Leave a Reply

