live it active



Wednesday Workout Tip: Stretch, Stretch, Stretch!

Who wants to have sore joints when they’re older? Who wants to have a perpetually sore back? I don’t. And I’m pretty sure you don’t either.

What can you do to prevent muscle and joint pain? It’s simple – stretch.

Livestrong.com provides a wonderful list of stretches. Being tall, I am constantly having to find new ways to stretch out my hips. I do a variety of activities (cycling, walking, running, Zumba, weight training, hiking) to ensure that my hips aren’t being exposed to the same movement over and over again. But my real savior when it comes to hip joint pain is yoga and stretching after every workout. I also stretch at night while watching TV as sitting for prolonged periods of time does not feel good. I sometimes stand, but my partner doesn’t really like me towering over him. Apparently it’s unnerving…who knew?

So next time you’re planning a trip to the gym be sure to tack on 15 minutes at the end of your workout to ensure a good stretch. Yes, 15 minutes. I refuse to encourage hurried and ineffective stretching technique.

Ensure that you’re muscles are warm (which they will be following a workout), take your time, and pay close attention to how your body feels. Pain is not something you want to feel while stretching. Discomfort at times, yes. Pain, no.

Happy stretching.

M

Leave a Reply

