live it active



Wednesday Workout Tip: Walk to Work

No, not a startling revelation. The advice of walking to work has been heard countless times before, but it is good advice. I understand that walking to work is not possible for everyone, especially my parents who live a good 20 minute drive outside of town. However, there are many that live close to work, but still drive. I am not trying to shame or guilt, merely trying to present the case of why it is beneficial. So here I go.

The benefits of walking to work (if you live within walking distance and my definition of walking distance is 30 minutes max. If you live farther, there is always the bicycle.):

1. Accomplish the government recommended amount of physical activity (PA) which is 30 minutes per day. Yay! Getting the recommended amount of PA per day is associated with improved health and increased life expectancy (if you want the source, ask me). However, as you know, the more you do the better.

2. Get to experience the elements of nature (some more than others, depending on where you live). Being in nature has been found (I don’t have the research paper in front of me…sorry) to reduce levels of stress.

3. Stimulate the senses and energize you prior to starting your work day.

4. Increase in resting metabolic rate (i.e. calorie burn per day).

5. Benefit to the environment.

6. Social interaction if you walk with a friend – another great stress reducer (will depend on the friend…).

7. Provide you with necessary and restorative alone time (if you decide to walk without said friend).

8. Save you money as you don’t have to pay for gas. Sweet, sweet bonus.

9. Lead to increases in lean muscle mass (this will take a while if you’re walking 20 minutes max per day, but it will happen).

10. Feel good medicine. Yes, walking to work instead of driving, will make you feel good. Trust me.

This post isn’t meant to preach, guilt, or judge. I understand that walking to work isn’t always possible and that the car is a necessary piece of equipment. However, when the opportunity presents itself, I strongly encourage you to take it. Walk to work – you’ll feel good.

M

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Diane says:

    I know, I know!! And Alex would be so happy if I left the car at home. I hereby pledge to walk to work in the summer at least, twice a week. You can check up on me to see if I am keeping up.
    🙂

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 10 months ago
    • Awesome! I am so happy you have decided to make the commitment. I will check up!

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 10 months ago
    • * Suzanne says:

      I walked to work this morning – thanks for the inspiration Morgan!

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 10 months ago
  2. For those who find the walk too long/tiring, get a bike! I live a 20 minute walk from work, but by bike it’s less than 10 minutes. I still get some physical activity, plus it’s quicker than any other mode of transportation.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

