live it active



Finding the funny on your path to health

I just finished reading Drop Dead Healthy by A.J. Jacobs. It was laugh-out-loud funny. I found myself enjoying body-convulsing laughs in coffee shops, at the airport, and on the plane. As you might have guessed, I highly recommend the book.

Using humour to discuss health is genius. While taking your health seriously is important (if you don’t there are usually some serious and unfortunate consequences), it’s also important to find levity in it.

Throughout the book Jacobs makes it quite clear that he doesn’t have a clue on how to eat healthfully. In Chapter 16, he once again revisits his quest to find the perfect diet. He asks his health-nut aunt Marti to show him a thing or two about Raw Food. She declares that he must purchase a juicer. He follows her advice and is surprised to discover how much he enjoys the ease and efficiency of juicing.

After two weeks of juicing and dehydrating his food, Jacobs broke down the experience into pros and cons.

“Positive: I feel lighter and cleaner. And I discovered that raw food, if prepared properly, can be tasty…Negative: I am hungry all the time and I started to look gaunt. ‘What’s with the manorexic look?’ my friend asked. By the end, I’d lost three pounds…In other news it made me feel light-headed and spacey. Also, since you asked, it was the most flatulent two weeks of my life. I was tempted to call Dr. Gottesman for some surgery.”

This paragraph was responsible for some serious body-convulsing laughter. Largely because of the reference to flatulence (yes, I am 6), but mainly because of the last sentence. And I am not going to spoil it for you. To understand the hilarity of the reference to Dr. Gottesman you must must must read the book.

I plan to blog more about the book. I loved the book. It was well-written, funny, and Jacobs was so easy to relate to. Finally, a “normal” person has written about health. The quotations aren’t to suggest that Jacobs is abnormal, but instead to point out that Jacobs is one of the first (to my knowledge) to write about trying to become more healthy without working/living/breathing the health field already.

It’s a refreshing perspective. His approach to health is one of balance (with a few extremes here and there. Example: running his errands. Yes, literally running his errands).  And I like balance. A lot. A health extremist I am not.

Stay tuned for more funny excerpts from the book. And if you can, read it. You’ll love it (well, at least I hope you will).

M

 

Leave a Reply

