live it active



“30 Challenges for 30 days of Growth”

I can’t take credit for the title of the post as it comes from a recent post on the blog, Marc and Angel Hack Life. I must also give credit to my friend Atif (check out his blog!), who sent this post to me.

So the post describes 30 different challenges that you should aim to do over 30 days. Being a rather competitive person, I am totally game for a good challenge, but…this list of challenges is rather overwhelming.

For example (I’m only going to list ten of the 30), the authors challenge you (the reader) to:

1. Perform one selfless act per day (not too hard)

2. Try something new everyday (OK, a little bit more challenging, but doable)

3. Teach someone else something new everyday (starting to become a little more time-consuming)

4. Dedicate one hour to something you’re passionate about (I know a number of people that cannot spare 10 minutes let alone an entire hour. And while I agree that making time for yourself is important, it may not be feasible for say, new moms and dads, single parents, working men and women, the list goes on…)

5. Ditch three bad habits in 30 days (um, hard, but a good challenge)

6. Read one chapter of a good book everyday (I love reading, but a number of people really do not enjoy this past-time. However, I recently had a non-reading friend convert to being an avid reader, so making this change is possible. Also what constitutes a good book?)

7. Every morning watch or read something that inspires you (OK, this is definitely possible)

8. Go alcohol or drug free for 30 days (I may try this one)

9. Do something everyday after lunch that makes you laugh (again, this is about making time which is difficult for a number of people. While I think this challenge is important, it is likely one that will get pushed to the back-burner.)

10. Cook one brand new, health recipe everyday (Oh my goodness, I could never do this)

Wow, so I sound like a true-blue negative-Nancy. The thing is, I love all the challenges, but I think trying to accomplish this much change in such a short period of time is pretty much impossible. I firmly believe that making slow and meaningful change to your life is possible and thus, would encourage you to try some of the challenges over a longer period of time.

Why a longer period? Because you’re bound to fail and I don’t want you beating yourself up for it. I want you to see that you have the time to get back on track. I don’t want your resolutions to cause you stress. I want your resolutions to assist in bringing your stress levels down.

So to the authors of this post, thank you. Thank you for providing us with some excellent ideas for the future. And to my readers, be kind to yourself when accepting some of these challenges (if you choose to do so). Make allowances, but not necessarily excuses. Challenge yourself, but don’t comprise yourself. Be optimistic, but maintain a realistic attitude.

Happy Wednesday.

M

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Glad you liked the post! I’m going to try and cook a new recipe a week, so we’ll see how that goes. Cooking daily is a lot of work, and given it’s just me in the apartment, a very inefficient use of time. Cooking one new recipe will hopefully give me enough for a few days! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

