live it active



“Say what? You want me to sit still and quiet my mind?”

Meditation is hard. Have you ever been to a yoga a class and actually successfully completed final relaxation? It is my favorite part of the class because I get the chance to snooze. Sleeping however, is not really the goal of final relaxation. The primary goal is to quiet the mind – working to allow and let go of incoming and distracting thoughts. I’ve always found the notion of “allowing” thoughts to enter and “let go” of them a rather abstract concept.

In my reading about meditation however, something clicked. One of the instructions said to “become an observer of your thoughts – see them, but don’t engage in them”. This instruction made sense to me. It’s still hard. Not engaging in thoughts that are stressful or upsetting is difficult. Oftentimes we create a war with our thoughts – going back and forth, repeating the same thought, sentence, list over and over. It’s not really helpful. In fact this type of inner conversation is often more detrimental than beneficial.

So how do you actually meditate? How can you become an observor of your own thoughts and quiet the mind? I’m not really sure. Yet, I want to take a stab at it. I want to stop snoozing and start actively working to make my mind less busy.

How do I propose to do this? By doing 10 minutes of meditation (or longer if I am in the zone) per day for 30 days. I will check in every once in a while (maybe adding on a sentence of two to another post) and at the end I will post about the challenges/ups/downs and my overarching feelings/thoughts about meditation.

If you want to join in on this challenge of sorts send me your updates/experiences/thoughts. I would love to hear about your journey.  

M

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Linda Craig says:

    Great article!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Jenny says:

    What a great challenge! I’ve always struggled during savasana (sp?) and often find myself engaging in an internal conversation even more so than normal (yes it’s possible). What should I make for dinner? I should do laundry tonight. That guy really smells. Card for Mom. Crap my visa is due.

    It’s really quite challenging, and while I don’t think I’ve reached a full meditative state, I often try to “go to a happy place” as Happy Gilmour did when hecklers distracted him on the course. It at least focuses the mind on a singular positive thought, and I spend more time trying to imagine the details of this place or memory rather than being distracted by what I should have for lunch tomorrow.

    JVD

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
    • That is a great way to get into meditation. Focusing on one thought – a positive one – is a key relaxation strategy. Also humming, yes humming, can help to focus the mind and breath. I tried it and it worked! I find when I am having a terrible meditation that humming can really bring me back to centre and I can start again.

      | Reply Posted 6 years ago


Leave a Reply

