live it active



On Training, Maintaining, and Enjoying

The questions: “How’s your training going?” and “Still doing that streak?”

My answers: “Non-existent” and “Not happening”

It would seem my motivation is definitely lacking. And it is. I know that I am supposed to be the motivating one giving you (my amazing readers) tips/tricks/ideas on how to maintain your motivation. Yet, today I thought it may be a good idea to share that I am not always motivated. That sometimes motivation will leave even the most motivated. And that’s OK.

I know that I will find my motivation again. I will get back on the bike and start cycling. I will lace up my running shoes and get back running. How do I know? Because I always get back on the exercise-train, even during my lulls. My motivation comes from a lot of places, but often I just get the feeling that I need to move, to sweat and feel the endorphin rush.

I wanted to share this period/stage/moment with you so that you know that these things happen. And that when they do, you should NOT beat yourself up. Instead, enjoy the momentary break. Beating yourself up and ruminating on what went wrong is going to make it worse.

If you’re feeling unmotivated and/or down about your exercise routine, here are some snappy and hopefully helpful hints to move through it (and believe me, I am definitely going to be utilizing some of these in the very near future):

  1. Enjoy the momentary break (but don’t let it go on for too long)
  2. Take a walk (even a quick tootle around town may trigger some feel-good endorphins and kick you back into gear)
  3. Find your favorite tune and dance to it (down the street, in the office, in your car, in the shower)
  4. Download some new tunes
  5. Ask a friend for their workout routine – change is good
  6. Sign-up for a race and fundraise for a cause close to your heart (there are always plenty going on, especially this time of year)
  7. Do a bootcamp class – a total butt-kicking may work wonders or be a complete disaster, make the choice that works for you

There are so many other things you can do to get motivated again. The number one thing to remember is not to be too hard on yourself.

Please share what motivates you during the lulls (via the comment board or email at liveitactive@gmail.com. I would love to hear some fresh ideas!

M

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jenny says:

    This post couldn’t have had better timing, as I had a moment last week where I was beating myself up for taking a few days away from exercise. The reason wasn’t because I was unmotivated, but that I had dinner plans with friends. I had to give my head a shake though, because it’s OK to have days off, and I had a great time with friends I haven’t seen in a while.

    Sometimes, I am afraid that if I’m thrown off my routine, I will drop it altogether. This simply isn’t the case, and over the weekend I did go for a walk to run errands, cleaned the apartment (albeit 400 square feet) and did 40 mins of yoga..which, I told myself is better than doing nothing!

    It’s Monday again, and I have my gym bag packed and ready to get back into the swing of things. I know I’ll make up for it in my class tonight 🙂

    Great post!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
    • Good, good, and great. Cleaning and walking to do errands is a great way to be active. We often don’t remember those activities because we don’t categorize them as exercise. Whilst they may not be planned/structured activities, they contribute to overall daily energy expenditure and thus, metabolism. So if you take a few days off, no matter what the reason, you can still do your body a whole lot of good by engaging in unstructured physical activity. Glad to hear you’re not beating yourself up.

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

