live it active



Wednesday Workout Tip: Take TV breaks

As much as I would like to say limit your television use, I watch TV and really enjoy it. But I do try to take breaks at commercials. What do I mean? I get up, I stand, I stretch. I am chronically sore from exercising, sitting too long, well,  just about anything (thanks Dad for those genes). Anyways, I can’t sit too long without starting to stiffen up.

So next time you’re watching television, don’t sit through the commercials. Finish the laundry, save the dinner dishes and do them in between, take out the garbage, vacuum the living room. If you don’t feel like doing chores (because who does) why not do some squats, wall push-ups, planks, or stretching.

Here are some ideas/images/instructions:

Squats: Check out this video for an idea on proper form. Now, I assume that most of you do not own a 60-80 lbs barbel and store it in your living room. So I wouldn’t worry about adding weights to your commercial squats routine. If you are feeling up for the challenge grab some soup cans, or something with a bit more weight and place and hold the cans on your shoulders. But above all else, do not let this compromise your form.

Wall Push-Ups: I know most of you can figure this one out, but check out this site for some helpful tips. You want to ensure that when you place your hands on the wall, they are at shoulder height and width apart. If you aren’t feeling anything with this, go to the floor. Start out using your knees as pivot points and then move to your feet. I want to stress that your hands should be directly under your shoulders. If they are too far forward this is going to cause some serious strain on your shoulders and back.

Planks: Many of you may not like planks but they are actually the best thing for your core. I appreciate that they are hard, but once you start you won’t stop. For some instruction on form check out this site. While crunches and sit-ups work on your abdominal muscles, they do not strengthen your lower back. With an improvement in the abdominal muscles, many will experience back pain which is due to the muscles in the back being pulled forward by the strengthened ab muscles. So, be careful with those.

Utilize those commercials and take some TV breaks. You may not think you’re doing a lot, but you’re doing a lot more than you were sitting and watching commercials!

Happy TV breaking.

M

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Julie says:

    This is a great Wed Workout Tip, Morgan. I enjoy planks more than sit-ups so I’m glad to see the added benefits of them. I’m going to tape your post up next to my TV and challenge my husband to “Plank Offs” during commercial breaks. If we make it through a whole break, then we can see who can do the most breaks in a 30 min or 60 min show. I’m looking forward to them already!

    | Reply Posted 6 years ago
    • That is awesome! Good for you Julie. Keep me posted on the winner!

      | Reply Posted 6 years ago
      • * Jenny van Dijk says:

        That’s a great idea! I’m going to start doing this too.

        Posted 6 years ago
      • Great! So glad to hear you like it. If you have any other exercise tips send them my way! The more the merrier.

        Posted 6 years ago


Leave a Reply

